top of page
Search

Where There's Doubt: Review

Welcome to the book tour for Terry Tyler's latest novel! A thriller called Where There's Doubt. Read on for more info!


Where There's Doubt by Terry Tyler

Where There’s Doubt

Publication Date: March 24th, 2022

Genre: Psychological Thriller/ Drama


‘I can be anything you want me to be. Even if you don’t know you want it. Especially if you don’t know you want it.’


Café owner Kate is mentally drained after a tough two years; all she wants from her online chess partner is entertainment on lonely evenings, and maybe a little virtual flirtation.


She is unaware that Nico Lewis is a highly intelligent con artist who, with an intricately spun web of lies about their emotional connection, will soon convince her that he is The One.


Neither does Kate know that his schemes involve women who seek love on dating sites and his small publishing business. A host of excited authors believe Nico is about to make their dreams come true.


Terry Tyler’s twenty-fourth publication is a sinister psychological drama that highlights the dark side of internet dating—and the danger of ignoring the doubts of your subconscious.


Review:

This is truly one for the books, readers! What a thrilling ride this one was, especially on the mind. Psychological thrillers are one of my favorite genres to read because they keep me up at night, and this one sure did just that!


Not only will the plot keep you on your toes, but the characters also will! Kate is an original (but unique) character who, just like us, wants to have a bit of fun. And oh my is she in for a surprise! Nico Lewis is the perfect con artist for this task.


Go read this one y'all! You won't regret it.


5stars


Excerpt


"Nico is a romance scammer, and this excerpt is from his point of view."


After the barbecue weekend with Kate I do an impromptu 'just had to see you' overnight with Heather because she's been acting rather strangely via text, and I can't risk her getting pissed off with me. I take her roses, and on the spur of the moment I come up with a story about my cousin Dieter (Dieter? Weird name choice, brain!) who throws the best New Year's Eve parties.


"Low key, just an incredible dinner with a selected few. He's got a stupidly big house in the Northamptonshire countryside—we could stay there, make a weekend of it."


I chose a date six months away to demonstrate my commitment, but now I wonder if it might be an idea to start talking spring breaks for next year, too. I need to get her up to speed, because she'll be the first hit—got to be, because her house will need to be sold. Andrew, our tame estate agent, is well in with a couple of property developer types who are always looking at places like Heather's to flip, so we're fairly confident of a quick cash sale, but obviously we can't rest on our laurels. I leave the sales side to Andrew. Might as well get all I can out of him in return for his eventual pay-off.


He's getting ten grand—he wants to quit his job and go backpacking.


I leave Heather on Wednesday, and speed straight to Diss to up the pace with Polly. Down on one knee, the whole works. The ring is white gold with a pear shaped aquamarine, set off with tiny diamonds. One thousand, two hundred and fifty pounds, paying for it on credit; we'll need make a couple of payments so as not to draw attention to ourselves. Em thought it was better to go down this road than the 'used to be my mother's' story, with some piece of old tat from a pawn shop; Polly's exactly the type who would take her new engagement ring to be valued.


I don't want to think about the night I was forced to endure after the proposal; my acting powers were stretched to breaking point, never mind my restraint. Before we went to bed, she insisted we stand in front of the mirror to practice corny wedding photo poses.


"Come on, it'll be a giggle!" she said.


That's how she talks. Calls a drink a 'tipple', and refers to watching romcoms and eating cake as 'guilty pleasures'. She has plenty of the latter, usually pink iced cupcakes. Oh, and then there's her great friend the universe. She believes she won the lottery and met me because she asked the universe to 'gift her' with these delights.


"You just have to believe, and reach out to the universe," she tells me.


It really is that simple. Allegedly. I've been asking it for this four million pound yacht I saw on a programme about the Southampton boat show, but it's ignored me so far.


That night we stood there, me in a t-shirt and boxers, her in a silky, lace-edged 'champagne' coloured slip (I'd have called it off-white but she insists the colour is champagne), and she said, "Talk about hashtag blessed! Thank you, Universe!"


She told me about her life philosophy during an early email exchange (except that Polly doesn't 'tell' people about things; she 'fesses up'). I advised her to be very careful what she tells strangers on the internet, because there are a lot of unscrupulous characters out there. She took this as an indication of how much I care for her. You couldn't make it up, could you?


I've had to weather a few meetings with her mother, too, but happily she fancies me as well, and can't wait to welcome me into the family.


Of course, Polly being Polly, as soon as I proposed it became all about the wedding plans. The venue. The guest list. Buffet or sit-down meal? A themed wedding, perhaps? Okay by me; she was so excited about her new project that she was happy just to sit up in bed chattering away, which gave me a rest. Just when I thought I might have to put a pillow over her face and apply pressure, she got out her laptop and announced that she'd had a wonderful idea.


"A boutique hotel!"


"Qu'est-ce que tu as dit, chéri?" She likes it when I 'talk French'. It's 'so romantic'.



About the Author


Terry Tyler is a writer of post-apocalyptic, dystopian and dark psychological fiction, and currently has 24 books published on Amazon.


When not busy writing she reads a great deal (she is a member of Rosie Amber’s Book Review Team), blogs about TV, writing and any random stuff that pops into her head, likes going for walks in the countryside and takes too many photos of trees. She loves history, Twitter, clever observational humour and is moderately obsessed with post-apocalyptic scenarios generally, and The Walking Dead. Terry lives with her husband in the north east of England.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page