top of page
Search

Triple Book Review: Last of the January Reads

To finish up my January reviews I thought I would combine the last three! I know we are almost a week into February, but these books deserve a great review! On with the review!



When I first realized this tied in with Greek mythology, I was super excited to read it. Cheri Lasota is as talented as any author is, her way of describing the setting allows you to fall right into the novel. Although the main character does not seem to be explained in full. Eva, the main character, is lacking in decision and personality. I wish there would be more to tell without giving away the main plot and ending. I wanted to like this more than I did, but it is hard to when the characters are so...lacking. 2.5 out of 5 stars.


For my first poetry read of 2021, you only love me when i'm suffering by John Lupin (known as the poetry bandit) is a beautiful read. Lupin's work is powerful on love, heartbreak, and rebuilding one's self. His poetry is full of life, while also giving people a dose of what reality has to offer. With over 200 poems, he has created a work of art that I hope to one day create. 4 out of 5 stars.


In the event this doesn't fall apart by Shannon Lee Barry is an astounding work of prose and poetry. Written for the one she loves, her poems represent the true meaning of love. She wrote her actual love story into poetry, and each is a beautiful piece of work. Shannon has a knack for knowing how to piece words together that lead to a masterpiece. 5 out of 5 stars.


Now, I know each review is short but I did not want to overwhelm everyone as there are three books here. I am happy to say that January was a productive month for reading; seven books were read and have been reviewed. In February, I have a goal of six books I would like to read and most of it is Historical Fiction.


I am in my second semester of college as a Junior and am taking five courses. With a heavy workload, I plan to divide my time and hope to work on a schedule of when I will post.


Thanks for reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews

riss.reviewsx@gmail.com


Each picture was found on and is given full credit to:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12233847-artemis-rising

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40046225-you-only-love-me-when-i-m-suffering

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56054329-in-the-event-this-doesn-t-fall-apart

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page