top of page
Search

The Girl They Left Behind & A Gentleman in Moscow

Here are two historical fiction reviews you MUST read!

The Girl They Left Behind by Roxanne Veletzos is based on the incredible true story of the author's mother. In January of 1941, a young couple must make the harrowing decision of leaving their 3-year-old daughter behind in the wake of Jewish people needing to flee Bucharest, Romania. When Natalia is adopted by a wealthy couple named Despina and Anton Goza, she is showered with love by people who have so desperately wanted a child for years.


A beautifully written novel, Veletzos describes the reality that many people faced during the Soviet oppression. The writing is not only pleasant but draws the reader in wanting to know more of what happened. As a fan of historical fiction, I anticipated this read to be good but found it to be great.


I have become a major fan of Veletzos' work and I cannot wait to discover more of it! Truly, an amazing read all around. Her writing brings the reader right into the scene. 4.4 out of 5 stars.



A Gentleman In Moscow by Amor Towles is a read I did not know I needed. Count Alexander Rosov is sentenced to house arrest in Moscow's Metropol hotel by Russia's Soviet masters. His life of luxury and charm is now in the hands of the hotel where is to spend the rest of his days. Count Alexander meets new friends, a new life, and lives it to his fullest.


I have to say I didn't know what to expect, but this read was quite interesting! It is split into 'five' books (or five small parts) and progresses throughout the main character's life. The life Towles gives to the Metropol hotel is my favorite part, and I hope to read more of his work as well!


This is definitely a 4.2 out of 5 star read.


We have one week left in February and I plan on reading two more novels. My last review of this month will also be posted on a Sunday. I have now read 11 of 120 books for my reading goal and I feel as if I am at a good pace for the start of the year.


Heading into my fourth week of college, the workload becomes a little heavier and more demanding of my time. I cannot wait for March to come!


Thanks for reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews


Sources for photos:


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page