top of page
Search

Satan's Glove Book Tour + Review

Welcome to the blog tour and book review for Satan's Glove! Read on for details and a review.


Satan's Glove: Book One

Synopsis (from Amazon):

In 1991, Eddie Romano, an undersized, unconfident kid, finds an antique baseball glove while on a treasure hunt of the ruins of the old Comiskey Park in Chicago.


Instantly that glove becomes his obsession. While sleeping at night, he's transported to a dreary, decrepit ballpark where he learns the game of baseball from Billy, a skillful young ballplayer, who seems to be under the control of a dark, sinister figure who calls himself, “The Manager.”


Miraculously, Eddie becomes a better ballplayer and is rewarded for anti-social behavior by having his skills improve. As his bad attitude causes him to lose more and more friends on his team, he starts receiving phone calls from legendary baseball players Babe Ruth and Lou Gehrig who attempt to steer his behavior in the complete opposite direction.


Unbeknownst to Eddie, two factions of “angels” are waging a war for his soul. What is the price of glory? Eddie will soon find out.


Review:

I truly did not know what to expect when I started reading this one. But, I knew right away that I would enjoy it. What an awesome read! I cannot commend the writing enough, I was pulled in from the beginning and I love the characters. Eddie is an interesting character and I found myself immersed in his life as a ballplayer. Give this one a read, y'all.


Excerpt:

Eddie held his glove against his heart and quickly fell into a deep sleep. He began to dream. Numerous faces flashed through his mind until he was staring up at the most handsome one he’d ever seen. This must be a dream. Suddenly, this handsome, young man spoke to him.


“Eddie. Eddie. Wake up. You’re here!” the handsome man in an old-fashioned Chicago White Sox uniform said.


“Where?” Eddie asked, confused.


“You’re here with me at the ballpark.”


Eddie sat up and looked around curiously at the abandoned stadium. The actual field was very well manicured, but the building itself was weathered with age. It looked like it must have been a real nice place at one-time, but somebody forgot to keep it up.


“Who are you?” Eddie asked in amazement.


“I’m your coach. I’m your dream coach.”


“A dream coach?” Eddie asked, now utterly fascinated.


“I’ve been waiting an awfully long time for you, Eddie. So, you’re the boy who found my glove. Do you mind if I look at it?”


“No, but you’re going to give it back, right?”


“Yeah. Of course.”


“Well, in that case, here,” Eddie said as he stood and tossed his “magical glove” to his dream coach.


“Wow. It hasn’t changed a bit since the last time I saw it.”


“It hasn’t?” Now Eddie worried. “Please tell me you don’t want to take it back.”


“No. It’s yours to keep, Eddie. I’m here just to teach you how to use it. It’s magical.”


“I knew it.” Eddie gloated. “So, you’re going to teach me how to control the magic. You’re going to be my new best friend, aren’t you?”


“That’s right. Now, here take your glove back,” the dream coach said, handing it to Eddie.


“Well, the field looks nice, but the rest of the place is a dump. Do you live here?”


“Yes.”


“Are you by yourself?”


The dream coach sighed. “For the moment, but that won’t always be the case.”

“Where do you sleep?”


“I don’t. Well, occasionally I do.”


“That’s not what I asked. Where do you sleep?”


“Oh, I sleep sometimes on the roof of the dugout and other times on the grass of the field.

Don’t you love the smell of freshly cut grass?”


Eddie sniffed. “Yes. I do.” He looked up at the overcast sky. “It seems awfully dreary. It must be depressing to live here. Where’s the sun?”


“I don’t know. I never see it.”


“Well, how do you tell day from night?”


“Your guess is as good as mine. Look, I can’t waste any more time with this chit-chat because, you see, I’ve got a job to do. I’m supposed to teach you how to play baseball like a professional. Would you like to learn?"


Eddie grinned. “There’s nothing I’d enjoy more than learning how to be a great ballplayer. I just hope you realize I’m going to be a real project. I absolutely love the game, but I’m not very good at it. Maybe you could change that for me.”


“Well, that’s what I’m here for. That’s why they pay me the big bucks.” He looked toward the dugout.


“I thought nobody was here with us.”


“Believe me, when I tell you, nobody is.”


“Can I ask you a question?”


“Sure. Fire away.”


“Are you with the spirit inside my glove?”


Dumbfounded, the dream coach asked, “What spirit are you talking about?”


“The one that says someday I’m going to be a professional baseball star,” Eddie said.


“Oh, that spirit. Well, I guess I am then,” The dream coach replied. Oh, my God, he’s just a child. This whole situation is beneath contempt. Now he felt despicable about playing a role in this corruption.


“Well, then I’d like to thank you and your friend inside my glove for helping me. You both are obviously going above and beyond the call of duty when it comes to making my life so much better. Since I can’t communicate with the spirit inside my glove directly, could you please pass on my kind words? I would forever be in your debt if you could.”


“Sure,” the dream coach said, fighting off the nausea welling up inside. “It’s time for your baseball lesson, okay?”


“Alright. I don’t envy you though, because I’m afraid I really stink at the game.”


“I’ll see what I can do about that. Well, where should I begin? I guess I’ll try to improve your hitting.”


Eddie and his dream coach worked on lots of fundamentals of hitting and fielding until Mrs. Romano banged loudly on Eddie’s bedroom door. The startling noise shocked Eddie back to reality. Suddenly he was swept away from that field of play back to his familiar bedroom.


“Wow! What a trip.” Eddie could hardly believe what had just happened.





Author Bio:

Wherever controversy is found it’s likely you’ll find “Cousin Vinny” in the thick of it.


On the evening of August 22, 2008, Mr. Agnello was accosted by two gunmen and shot twice in the leg in Sleepy Hollow, New York. The motive for that shooting was never determined. As of this date, no one has been arrested.


Agnello recovered from the shooting and currently resides in Monticello, Georgia. This is the final evolution of a story that he received in a dream-like state back in 1991. “Cousin Vinny” believes that his colorful past gives him greater insight into the plights of the people we meet in our daily lives. He truly hopes you enjoy this adventure.


Visit Cousin Vinny on Facebook.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page