top of page
Search

Mid May Reviews!

We are halfway through May and I thought I would share at least half of my reads. I have read 10 novels over a three-week period and am excited to share my thoughts on these wonderful reads! On with the reviews!


Women Are Some Kind of Magic poetry collection by Amanda Lovelace

Lovelace's collection is a work of self love, overcoming a traumatizing experience, and finding the happiness everyone deserves. This poetry is full of raw, vulnerable emotion as the speaker lays out their feelings for readers to understand. I found myself in love with each collection of poetry and enjoyed the metaphors used throughout. My favorite collection is probably the witch doesn't burn in this one because of how beautiful and real the speaker's voice is. Overall, a 3.5 out of 5 star for each collection.


Yellow: poems for the healing heart by Alannah Radburn

Radburn is extraordinary with words as each poem offers a realistic view of one's life and emotions of love. This collection of poetry offers a look at what it means to heal from a heartbreak and finding one's self again. I think one of the most enjoyable aspects in this poetry is how real it is. Each poem connects in some way but pulls the reader in one fluid direction. I was introduced to Radburn's work by my best friend and I have not been able to put her work down since! 4 out of 5 stars.


Nocturnal by Wilder Poetry

Wilder's collection of poetry is one of my new favorite reads! Poetry related to the moon and learning to love one self again is right up my alley and I adore this work so much. Wider is incredibly gifted with word choice and I am so happy to have been gifted this beautiful work of art. The artwork in this poetry is so calming and pretty that readers can't help themselves but dive right into reading. 5 out of 5 stars.


milk and honey by rupi kaur

This is the first work of poetry that I have read from Kaur and I think it was very powerful and real. The speaker's voice is strong, vulnerable, and truthful. I think Kaur shares her own experiences through a collection of poetry that took readers by storm. 3 out of 5 stars.


Call Me By Your Name by Andre Aciman

CMBYN is an amazing novel and I loved reading it. This is a novel I brought over from my April TBR and I am so happy I did! Aciman's talent for describing such detailed scenes is something to strive for. The imagery in this novel allows readers to be swept up in the journey of Elio and Oliver experience over a summer in Italy during the 1980s. 4 out of 5 stars.


When We Believed in Mermaids by Barbara O'Neal

An emotional novel of two sisters and a web of lies that soon become uncovered. One sister thought to be dead for 15 years after being killed on a train during a terrorist attack suddenly appears on the TV news. Another sister begins to search for the truth of what happened to the sister she mourned for so long. Such a suspenseful and enthralling novel that you won't be able to put down until finished with it. Another novel brought over from April. 4.2 out of 5 stars.


Murder, She Wrote: A Date With Murder by Jessica Fletcher, Donald Bain, & Jon Land

The murder mystery novel you should totally read when you have no time to read lengthy books. Jessica Fletcher is notorious for helping the police department solving strange murders she happens upon. I love these murder mysteries, especially when I need a break from the real world. 3 out of 5 stars.


The Perfect Couple by Elise Hilderbrand

Elise Hilderbrand knows how to build suspense and uncover dark secrets in a rather wealthy family's life. Celeste is about to marry into one of the wealthiest families on the Nantucket Coast until the maid of honor is found floating face down on the beach the day of the wedding. Murder or accident? Well, you'll have to read to find out. Truly worth the suspense until the end. 3.5 out of the 5 stars.


Well, here are 10 of my reads for the month of May! I still have a few more I want to read before the month is up, so we shall see. I hope you enjoyed reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews


**ALL photos found on Google and belong to their respective owners.**



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page