top of page
Search

June Reviews Have Arrived!

We are all well over the halfway mark for 2021; however, there are many novels I still plan on reading! It is safe to say that I will finish my goal on time and perhaps then some. June was a rather busy month for a college student taking summer courses and trying to fit in time to read. I did not read as many as I wanted to, but that is quite alright. On with the review!


Unbirthday: A Twisted Tale by Liz Braswell

The world of Wonderland is reimagined in Braswell's latest novel, taking our favorite characters and creating another dangerous adventure for them to trek through. Alice is able to go back and forth to her world and into Wonderland, but how long will it last? I absolutely loved reading this novel as Braswell's writing style is always on par with the setting of the novel. Give this a read! 4 out of 5 stars.


home body by Rupi Kaur

One of the most well-known poets, Kaur is known for writing true, raw emotions for readers to see. This does not disappoint, as readers are given the reality of how the author feels. I truly appreciate Kaur's writing more than they will ever know. 3.5 out of 5 stars.


the sun and her flowers by Rupi Kaur

Another of Kaur's poetry demonstrates how one can overcome a traumatic experience and find the light again. While it may be a battle, Kaur's poetry shows us her own battle. 4 out of 5 stars.


The Black Witch Chronicles: Books 1-3 by Laurie Forest

If there is one series you should read, it needs to be this one! I could not read this fast enough, the characters are developed so well throughout each novel and portray the perfect fantasy world. There is a rebellion, there is war, and there is magic. 5 out of 5 stars.


The Rebel Mages by Laurie Forest

Before there were rebel mages and these are their stories. Another well-executed novel, Forest gives readers characters that overcome views they were taught at birth. I love this novel. 5 out of 5 stars.


Trouble at High Tide: Murder, She Wrote by Jessica Fletcher & Donald Bain

The perfect summer read begins with a murder in Bermuda. Jessica is taken aback upon finding the body of her host's niece on the beach and must find out who killed her. Another great murder mystery to solve alongside Jessica. Go give this a read! 5 out of 5 stars.


The Great Hotel Murder by Vincent Starrett

Okay, I tried with this novel, truly. I know it is was originally published in 1935 and was adapted into a film, but I could not get into it. I think it was the writing style because I rather liked the characters. 1.5 out of 5 stars.


-------

And that's a wrap on June's reviews! I have already read five novels for July and cannot wait to share them with all of you!


Thanks for reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews


**ALL photos were found on Google and belong to their respectful owners. I do not own any photos.**

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page