top of page
Search

Final Reads of February x4

My final reads for February are finally here, on the last day of the shortest month. Enjoy these reviews!

Historical Fiction:


The Things We Cannot Say by Kelly Rimmer is a beautifully written and detailed novel about the lives of two relatives who have lived two completely different lives. Alina, a young woman who escaped from Poland during WW2 left behind everything she knew for America. Alice, her granddaughter, lives a life taking care of her two children full time with one child on the autism spectrum.


When Alice is asked by her grandmother to visit the homeland she was never able to return to, secrets are revealed. Alice must learn to put trust in the people she loves and learn that there are some things that cannot be said.


WOW! I absolutely adore this novel from the very beginning to the end. I have to admit that I did in fact cry at the end, it was so beautiful and tragic. Gosh, the characters will forever be some of my favorites from historical fiction. Thank you, Kelly Rimmer, for writing this novel. 4.5 out of 5 stars.


Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly is a harrowing true tale of the women who survived the torture faced in Ravensbrück, a concentration camp for women during WW2. This story is told from three different perspectives: Caroline Ferriday, the woman who does charity work for the French Consulate in New York City, Kassia, the young teen who faced the concentration camp for several years, and Herta, a German doctor who worked at the concentration camp.


This was another novel in which made me emotional because of how well written the characters are. The fact that this is a true story and is written very well also factors into this being a tragic story but written with a hope of sorts for the future.


Martha Hall Kelly is an insanely talented writer and has created many well-written novels. But this one, I am so thankful that she wrote it. I cannot wait to read the second novel in this series and many more. I am happy this was my first novel of Kelly's to have read. 5 out of 5 stars.

Fiction:

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George is a book I am so happy to have discovered on BookOutlet. I adored every chapter and the characters! Gosh, I absolutely loved this book. It was a read I needed in-between such heavy historical fiction novels.


I feel as if everyone should have the chance and read this book without any spoilers given away or a summary of what it is about. Please, go read this book! 4.2 out of 5 stars.


You by Caroline Kepnes is an eerie thriller I also purchased from BookOutlet. Gosh, this was one of my final reads for February, and...it is honestly a bit creepy. The whole idea of a stalker is scary enough, but having one that knows your every move is horrifying. Beck, the main target for Joe Goldberg's latest fixation takes readers on an epic adventure that eventually leads to tragedy.


Of course, I have watched the show that is based on this book and it is definitely creepy. The book clears up any questions I had from the show. 3.5 out of 5 stars.


Well, February is officially at an end and I am up to a total of 14 books read out of 120. I feel as if I am on track with my own reading schedule plus keeping track of my college workload.


For March, I have a few new posts I want to add to my blog (and I cannot wait to share)! I am excited for March, especially due to the novels I have picked out.


Thank you for reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews


Sources for the photos:


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page