top of page
Search

April Reviews & Updates

Hello fellow readers! It has been a hot minute since I updated my book blog and for good reason. As a college student, the spring semester is one of the busiest times of the year to finish coursework. My April reviews are a bit late but on we go (plus a few updates)!


  1. Soft in the Middle by Shelby Eileen

Poetry full of beautiful words on the acceptance of one's body, sexual identity, and learning to love one's self. As the first read of April, I immediately connected to the speaker's positive attitude and learning to accept their body. This is a very well-written collection of poetry and I am astounded at how soft-spoken each poem is with a powerful message behind it. 4 out of 5 stars.


2. The Girl and the Goddess: Stories and Poems of Divine Wisdom by Nikita Gill

For my second read of April, I was so excited to read one of Gill's most recent poetry collections! With several poems to read, it felt as if there was a story being told throughout the whole poetry book. There are never any complaints when I read a novel from Gill, this is a beautiful work of art through words. 5 out of 5 stars.


3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Ok, I like this book but I am not in love with this book. I like the main character but did not enjoy how quickly the book read. The chapters were every two pages and it was sometimes confusing in certain places. Overall, I think it was still enjoyable and I was surprised by the ending. 3 out of 5 stars.


4. Mirror, Mirror by Jen Calonita

Calonita took my least favorite Disney fairytale and created a great story! Finally, we get to see Snow White as a courageous young woman who plans to challenge the wicked queen. I enjoyed this novel a lot more than I thought I would. 4 out of 5 stars.


5. Go the Distance by Jen Calonita

Ahhh, this novel is probably my favorite Twisted Tale novel from the series now. Being able to have more of a backstory on Megara was the best part of the book. I am in love with this twisted tale. 5 out of 5 stars.


6. this is the journey by Alison Malee

When I first read this, I had some doubts that I would enjoy the poetry written. There were a few poems are only four words and take up a whole page. This collection of poetry has its ups and downs but the imagery is absolutely beautiful. 2.5 out of 5 stars.


7. A Time for Murder: Murder, She Wrote by Jessica Fletcher

I adore the television series "Murder, She Wrote" with Angela Lansbury as Jessica Fletcher, mystery novelist and crime solver. Reading the book is no different! I devoured this novel in less than a day because I wanted to know who the murderer was. I cannot wait to read more. 4 out of 5 stars.


8. The Story of Kullervo by J.R.R. Tolkien

As one of the most tragic stories by Tolkien, I can see the appeal for some but it was not as tragic as I thought it was going to be. I like the characters and the backstory. As one of my favorite authors, I am not disappointed in the story it just not my favorite. 3 out of 5 stars.


Well, there you have it. My eight novels of April are FINALLY reviewed. I hope at least one novel catches your eye!


UPDATE: As I finish my spring semester, I am taking two summer courses required for my degree. I plan to read as much as I can and continue my goal of 120 novels. Right now, I am currently over 40 novels read so I am almost to the halfway point!


Thanks for reading!


Until next time,

Riss Reviews


Note* ALL photos found on Google. All rights go to Amazon.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page